"Future Pro""? I hate to beat a dead horse but.......
Below are the requirements for the FPT. After reading these again for the 100th time....I have mixed feelings. For example....."You are NOT eligible to fish if you have more than once, won over $6,000 (in cash) individually or as part of a team in any one season". I feel if you've won more than $3,000 in any season you are no longer a "Future" Pro. I'm there partner! Geesh Give me a break. If I won a few "decent" tourneys with a field of some good sticks......I'd be embarrassed to fish these types of tourneys. They not only allow winning $6k in a season...you have to do it twice?
Here's the next one that gets me......"You are NOT eligible to fish if you have fished more than once as a pro (boater) in Pro/Am competition". Boy looking at the entries over the last few years.....hmmmm...I'm not to sure these rules are applying to everyone.
Then you have this rule: "You are NOT eligible to fish if you have won more than one prize boat". More than one? Wow! Let me win a boat....I'd never fish as an "amateur" again!
That's just me.
These are just my opinions...everyone has them. I did also notice they didn't know how to spell "amateur" so go figure.
One last thing....I hear ya brother who spoke about letting someone fish as a "Future Pro" even though he's well over qualified but allowed to because he is fishing with his son. Interesting.
Let the hate mail begin. Trust me I can take it.
You are NOT eligible to fish the Future Pro Tour if any of the following apply:
• If you have fished more than once as a pro (boater) in Pro/Am competition.
• If you have more than once, won over $6,000 (in cash) individually or as part of a team in any one season. Money won as a amatuer in Pro/Am competition or specialty events is excluded.
• If you have finished more than once as team Anglers Of The Year in organized (non-club) pro team or amatuer team competition. This applies even if you have fished with different partners.
• If you have finished in the top 5 in the point standings more than 3 times during any pro team season.
• If you have won more than one prize boat, engine, or vehicle while fishing as a pro in any pro/am or pro team competition. Prizes won in specialty events such as Snagproof Open, Vanity Cup, etc., are excluded.
• If you have won more than one prize boat, engine, or vehicle fishing as a amatuer in any circuit.
• If you have won more than one TOC championship in any amatuer or pro team circuit. This applies even if your championship win did not include a boat, vehicle, or engine as first prize.
Markarian Investigations @ (209) 777-9696
Merced PD (Retired)
C & C Marine
Stage Stop Gun Shop (Atwater & Mariposa)